Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tnhillbillytoo

Soapstone is IN - midway kitchen reveal (tons of pix!)

tnhillbillytoo
12 years ago

I have been stalking this forum for a couple of years planning our kitchen renovation. Our soapstone is finally in so I thought I'd do a mid-way reveal of the work we've done so far. We built the house in 1998 and the kitchen was what we could afford at the time. It really needed to be reworked to make it more functional. Dh and I are MAJOR DIY'ers. The only thing we've hired out is the counters so it has been LONG and SLOW (we started Dec 26 last year) but we are getting there ;) I still need to paint most of the doors/drawer fronts, but you'll get the idea of where we're going I hope...

We added a 2nd story to the house to accommodate all the kids (4!) and the extra weight cracked the ceiling in the open doorways (2) between the kitchen and living room. We narrowed the doors a bit and added transom windows above.

Before (actually, kind of during. I had already narrowed the door and was working on the drywall :)

After...

This is ::almost:: a before of the kitchen. We had already put the new paint on some of the walls, done the ceiling, added can lights, and painted the cabinets beside the sink window. Notice the dorky white formica with the oak edge. Oy, what was I thinking!?!?!?

We added new crown and trim along the bottom of all the cabinets...

The original refrigerator and cabinets (although we had moved the cabinets UP-- see the red paint line? That was originally where they hung)...

We cut eleventy-billion holes in the ceiling and added a bunch of can lights. The original kitchen only had one light in the center of the room @@. It's nice being married to an electrician ;)

Putting in the bead board ceiling to cover the eleventy-billion holes...