Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aim57

tile over asbestos linoleum?

aim57
13 years ago

We were just getting ready to pull out our old kitchen flooring for a kitchen remodel, and we discovered what looks like asbestos tile underneath the current linoleum.

We are looking at all the options of removing it ourselves, paying someone to remove it, but I am also wondering if we can tile over the existing linoleum? I would never want to do this otherwise, but in this case, I'm wondering if it's our best option.

The top layer of linoleum is not in perfect condition, and it stops at the cabinets, which we plan on removing and tiling under. Under the 2 layers of linoleum are 2 layers of wood subfloor. Would we tile right on top of the lineolum, or put a 1/4" cement board on top then tile?

Comments (10)

• carol08
    13 years ago

I'm no expert on asbestos but my general sense is that asbestos is a problem when it is friable (it crumbles and therefore can become airborne). If the tiles aren't deteriorating and you can encapsulate them by covering them with something, I think you should probably be OK. (You should check with experts about this, though; I'm not an expert.)

You might want to start, however, by having the tiles tested to see whether they actually contain asbestos. When a contractor suggested that some material in our home looked like it might contain asbestos, we had it tested and found out it he was wrong--it wasn't asbestos and we didn't have to worry about it. Hurray!

You might also want to check out the GW Remodeling and Flooring forums. The issue of asbestos has come up periodically there, I think.

• bill_vincent
    13 years ago

I understand your reluctance to remove them, but I have a problem with tiling over vinyl of any kind, and that includes V/A tile.