Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clc08_gw

Granite seam in middle of sink?

clc08
15 years ago

Fabricator mentioned yesterday that some people place their seams in the centerline of the sink because that way you end up with 2 small seams instead of a long seam somewhere else.

What do you think about doing it that way?

I see his point, but it would be right under my kitchen window...and I worry that it would break the visual continuity of the sink...also, would it be less structurally sound?

But, I'm not an expert...that's why I'm asking around here!

Our granite is Labrador Antique and fairly consistent...if that makes a difference...

Comments (29)

• bluekitobsessed
    15 years ago

That's the way mine was done.

• chrissiemw
    15 years ago

I'm not an expert either but I'll share with you what my fabricator said.

They always try to avoid doing seams at the sink, cooktop and over the dishwasher.

He said that the weight in your sink will vary on either end when it's full of dishes (especially if you have a double basin) and it's too much stress for a seam. Same for the cooktop and the dishwasher doesn't support the granite.

Not sure how much truth there is to that but I had seen their seam work and I was impressed enough to not worry about it being noticeable in a 26" run of counter.

My seam is about 1 1/2 feet to the left of my sink. It's right before my counter turns for the penninsula and I really don't notice it at all.

• deegeegirl
    15 years ago

That's the way ours was done, too. I don't even notice it. A designer that we worked with later (on something else) said it was done very well (and her specialty is kitchens).

• raehelen
    15 years ago

Mine too, basically invisible this way instead of a large long seam somewhere else. Mine is lined up with edge of cabinet doors, so visually is continuous.