Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ontariomom

Was anyone else plagued by second guessing their layout

ontariomom
10 years ago

Hi,

Has anyone else found they were paralyzed at the kitchen design layout stage and worried sick that they could not proceed to actually finalize the cabinet order? I have been agonizing over our kitchen layout for well over two years. The newest version is a far cry from the original version, and it now passes all or virtually all the recommendations set out by the NKBA kitchen guidelines so it should be functional. But still I worry.

For those of you who have been in my paralyzed position, and who feared moving and committing to a kitchen design what did you do for reassurance? Did you bravely go forward and order those cabinets? Did you put aside the nay sayers who would have you start over? Did you regret anything major about the layout once the kitchen was built?

Okay, perhaps I am going on far too long, and whining ridiculously about a small problem (in other words I should be so lucky to be able to build this dream kitchen) I guess I need some confidence before spending the huge some of money on this key room. My family who has been living in a construction zone for over a year, needs me to move forward. For what it is worth here is the kitchen layout that I am still agonizing over:

Thanks for any thoughts that help me move forward.

Carol

Comments (28)

• LE
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Uh, oh-- looks like you might be an over-thinker (I can relate)! We are doing a whole house (with an architect), but I'm currently agonizing over one linear foot in the kitchen. Crazy, huh? But it looks like you've really thought about what you need and want, and what goes where and what happens where. I've saved your diagram from a previous thread as good example of how to make sure I've thought it out! So yeah, probably time to stop thinking and let the dust fly! And start writing checks...