Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pumpkinhouse

What components make up your dream kitchen?

pumpkinhouse
10 years ago

I've read here and there what brands ppl consider to be the ultimate this or that...dishwasher, fridge, etc. What products would you put in your dream kitchen?

Range (or cooktop/ovens)
Fridge
Dishwasher
Microwave
Countertops (probably not a brand name here, but type)
Cabinets
Floor
Backsplash
Lighting
Sink
Faucet
Any misc appliance/item not listed above

Can be more than one...like first choice is the ultimate, no budget choice, but options two and three would be pretty sweet also.
I don't have a list of my own yet. I am renting with contractor-grade everything, so I have no first hand experience with my dream kitchen.

Comments (7)

• gabbythecat
    10 years ago

Granite counter tops. A huge fridge (our new house will be 15+ miles from a decent grocery store). A microwave that is NOT an over the range model.

Dh and I really don't have big expectations for our new house. We keep saying that our mothers raised families in horrible (by today's design standards) kitchens - horrible layouts, old fashioned laminate counter tops, and they didn't seem to mind. We don't plan on anything high end by most standards. But what we will have - to us, it's going to be a big wow!

But in regard to your post - if you are planning to build, I think now is the time to start brainstorming, asking for ideas here and also looking at what other people have in their homes. Many of our kitchen/house ideas haven't worked. But many of them have been keepers and will make our house very unique!

• GreenDesigns
    10 years ago

Anything modern Mick De Guillio does. With one of this trademark Asian armoire fridges and his patented sink.

• cawaps
    10 years ago

The first thing I thought of was to have the sink, range and refrigerator all in the same room.

That is sad. Very sad.

Maybe I should be more ambitious.

• williamsem
    10 years ago