Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What components make up your dream kitchen?

Posted by pumpkinhouse (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 29, 13 at 19:47

I've read here and there what brands ppl consider to be the ultimate this or that...dishwasher, fridge, etc. What products would you put in your dream kitchen?

Range (or cooktop/ovens)
Fridge
Dishwasher
Microwave
Countertops (probably not a brand name here, but type)
Cabinets
Floor
Backsplash
Lighting
Sink
Faucet
Any misc appliance/item not listed above

Can be more than one...like first choice is the ultimate, no budget choice, but options two and three would be pretty sweet also.
I don't have a list of my own yet. I am renting with contractor-grade everything, so I have no first hand experience with my dream kitchen.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What components make up your dream kitchen?

Granite counter tops. A huge fridge (our new house will be 15+ miles from a decent grocery store). A microwave that is NOT an over the range model.

Dh and I really don't have big expectations for our new house. We keep saying that our mothers raised families in horrible (by today's design standards) kitchens - horrible layouts, old fashioned laminate counter tops, and they didn't seem to mind. We don't plan on anything high end by most standards. But what we will have - to us, it's going to be a big wow!

But in regard to your post - if you are planning to build, I think now is the time to start brainstorming, asking for ideas here and also looking at what other people have in their homes. Many of our kitchen/house ideas haven't worked. But many of them have been keepers and will make our house very unique!

o

Anything modern Mick De Guillio does. With one of this trademark Asian armoire fridges and his patented sink.

o

The first thing I thought of was to have the sink, range and refrigerator all in the same room.

That is sad. Very sad.

Maybe I should be more ambitious.

o