Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
capegirl05

Kitchen Cabinets...paint or stained wood

Capegirl05
12 years ago

I am a newbie here, but I must confess, I have been lurking and I have learned soooo much from you guys! We are building a house and I am really needing to make this decision, and so far, it has by far been the toughest one...do I have the kitchen cabinets painted (creamy white) OR have the wood stained. Here are the factors that I have to consider:

1. I love the look of painted cabinets in a kitchen...

2. We have a small dog that will try to jump up if we leave food out...he IS getting older and less agile, but it is an issue...

3. Our cabinets will be painted on-site (not in a warehouse with the catalytic baking....technique...that is not in our budget, unfortunately)

4. Painted cabinets are cheaper...but the "new look" might not last as long as with wood stain.

5. We will have real hardwood floors in the kitchen, so having stained cabinets may be too much wood...

6. Even though I REALLY WANT painted kitchen cabinets, I don't want to hear/sense/feel "I told ya so" from DH...and at the same time, I don't want to wish to myself, "Man, I wish I would have painted these cabinets..."

See my dilema? We will live in this house for a very very long time, probably forever so this is what is keeping me up at night. Help! What have you all done and what has worked???

Comments (8)

• Fori
    12 years ago

Painted on site? That means you can touch up on site. Get a popular white color, like the ones the major paint stores have been keeping in stock forever so you'll be able to get more easily, and don't worry about it.

If you replace your small dog with a big one who does the same thing, you'll like that you can fill and paint those gouges!

So, for you, nothing says stained has an advantage over paint. Paint 'em.

• caryscott
    12 years ago