Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Buying countertop remnant on Craigslist

Posted by calizzy (My Page) on
Sun, Jun 30, 13 at 18:02

I'm totally new to this whole "countertop" world and have no idea what I am doing! I need a 46 inch piece of countertop for a bathroom vanity, unfortunately standard size is 49 inch, so I can't get an inexpensive pre-made one. I see granite and quartz remnants on craigslist that would be big enough for cheaper that a custom made solid surface top from home depot. If I bought something from craigslist, would I be able to find someone to cut it to the right length and cut a sink hole? Doesn't the person who cuts this tuff usually want to sell you their own slabs? Also, I assume it's a pretty small job, can I find someone willing to do it? And what about the install? Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Buying countertop remnant on Craigslist

Sure you find someone, but at what price? Probably end up costing you more than to buy a premade top. Also more than likely you assume the responsibility if it cracks while he is cutting it!

o

I considered doing that. I saw some really good deals on granite. Unfortunately, it was no longer such a good deal when they quoted me the price to do the cutting...it just wasn't worth it...It was very frustrating since I had thought I could get a good granite counter top for our bathroom for $100 or so. Didn't work out that way.

You *could* go to a stone yard - you know, where they sell huge slabs of granite. Our local stone yard has amazing remnants! You might get a better deal on the remnant and the cutting than if you went through a private party. But the cutting is still going to cost more than you'd like, probably.

This post was edited by gladys1924 on Sun, Jun 30, 13 at 18:30

o

Each area is different. Some areas like mine you can't find fabricators that don't work for stone yards. I had looked at granite on craigslist but couldn't find a fabricator.