Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladancer_gw

Handles or knobs on cabinetry?

LAdancer
9 years ago

What is best on standard cabinets and drawers? Handles on medium sized cabinets and knobs on drawers OR
knobs on cabinets and handles on drawers? It may sound like a stupid question, right?
Drawers are 6 inches deep and a couple at 12 inches deep. They are not wide, about 19 inches.

Cabinets vary but are not large either--About 19 inches wide by various lengths.

Drawers look okay with knobs, I know, but are handles better? Cabinets look okay with knobs also, but are handles better?

Comments (12)

• DeeV78
    9 years ago

good question. I'm no expert, but I'm planning on installing handles on drawers and knobs on cabinet doors. Curious what others have to say. Not sure if this a preference thing or if there are any "rules" around best practice. thanks for asking the question; I look forward to seeing the responses

• ck_squared
    9 years ago

There are no rules. It's all personal preference. I have the same handles on all doors and drawers. The same size, too (some would say that is "wrong").

Handles are better ergonomically.

• dcward89
    9 years ago

I did the same as ck...all handles everywhere, all the same size. Some people do a mixture of handles and knobs, some do all handles but different sizes...it's up to you and whatever your preference is.

• kam76
    9 years ago

Reference as everyone else said. I am planning to do handles for drawers and knobs for doors.

• annkh_nd
    9 years ago

Completely personal preference. I've seen all knobs, all pulls, and various mixtures.

You can use pulls all the same size, vary the length of pulls for drawers of different sizes, place pulls vertically or horizontally. You can use 2 short pulls on a wide drawer.