Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
j_e_l_l_o

how to install ceramic tiles over kitchen sink

j_e_l_l_o
13 years ago

i have a kitchen sink that was installed and i didnt like the contractor so i didnt have him come back out to finish the tile around my new stainless steel kitchen sink. I do have the tiles, and now that i have my floors demo'd to install solid bamboo, i can get back to lesser tasks.

here is a photo:

http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e255/Jelloztime/IMG00209-20100608-0920.jpg

do i put thinset over the stainless to match up to the height of the counter? or can i just use contstruction adhesive to glue the tiles down up to the height of the counter.

what should be the recommended installation? thank you.

Comments (6)

• Circus Peanut
    13 years ago

hi Jello,

There's a really good online forum for tiling where a bunch of pros hang out and patiently answer DIYers questions. That's probably the best place to ask this question. Link below.

I'm no pro myself, but I don't think you want to use construction adhesive anywhere that water might flow -- for that, you really want thinset. But I'm not sure about putting thinset over the stainless rim itself. Ask the guys at the tile forum for the real answers! :-)

Here is a link that might be useful: John Bridge Tile Forum

• texaskitchentoo
    13 years ago

I'm thinking most tile countertops have self rimming sinks (sinks that fit on top of the tile). This looks like an undermount sink.

You can do an undermount sink in tile but it requires some preplanning and it looks like this tile has already been set. Then the sink looks like it was put in later.

Schlueter makes a sort of trim that can be used to make a finished look around a sink like this. But this needs to be done in concert with the tile job, not after the fact.