Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amourcc

36" Induction cooktop? (Thermador, Wolf, Miele)

amourcc
9 years ago

I had search and read a lot in GW about induction cooktop. I've now down to Thermador, Wolf and Miele. I've been using portable induction cooktop for over 10 years so transition in using that is not a problem to me at all.

My choice would be:
Thermador CIT365KM/CIT365KB
Wolf CT361S
Miele KM 5773

I have not quote Miele price yet. Thermador and Wolf's price is not much a different. Is there any current user can chime in about their induction cooktop? How did it held up all these year?

Thanks. CC

Comments (7)

• plllog
    9 years ago

Try the Appliances forum for more responses.

I have Gaggenau and love it.

The biggest differences between various standard induction cooktops are the power in each element, the amount of boost and/or power-sharing there is, and the type of controls/additional features. The latter includes individual timers for each element or not, individual controls for each element or not, "true timers" that count down and turn off, memory programmable functions, tap tap buttons vs. arrays vs. sliders vs. knobs... Stuff like that. There also may be noise differences both in the elements and cooling fans. Read the manuals and choose the most appealing features. All of them seem to be well made and function correctly. You can't really make a bad choice among your options.

• ReBe231
    9 years ago

I have the Miele KM5773 but it is new and I have only cooked 3 real meals on it. I had a 36" Viking duel fuel range, so this is a bit different for me. It seems to cook quickly, evenly and is quiet. I was concerned that there might be hot spots but that is not the case. I had to buy all new pans, Cristel Casteline with removable handles, and so far so good. I am not used to the pans sliding so easily on the "burner" but perhaps it is just the newness. I love the easy cleanup; the Viking was a bear to clean. So far I'm loving it.

• nancyaustin