Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
caitlinmagner

Repost (I think): Please critique this floor plan

caitlinmagner
10 years ago

I thought I posted this a while back, but it didn't come up in a review of my postings. So forgive me.

Please give me your thoughts on this floor plan. Specifically, if you think the eating area should be counter height or table height. And if it makes sense to have it as a fixed island. We do have a formal dining room and table.

I am thinking of doing quartz countertops and butcher block eating table, because I like the look of butcher block.

Thank you in advance.

Comments (13)

• Sms
    10 years ago

I am no layout expert but...

You might want to think about the pantry door bumping into the fridge (perhaps a pocket door could solve that). The island is pretty big and it will be hard to clean the middle of it but it looks like you want the expanded seating. The aisles to the left and right of the sink are a tad narrow too I suppose. Prep sink is a bit far from the stove. It appears that you have upper cabinets on the window wall-- if that is the case you might want to rethink that so that you get more natural light into the kitchen (assuming the view is acceptable).

You might think about putting the clean up zone (sink and d/w) on the window wall to help hide the mess and have the d/w closer to dish storage. Prep is far more time consuming than clean up so you would benefit from having the island serve as the prep zone. Perhaps you would consider a 45" Kohler Stages (or something similar) for island sink since it is wide enough. Of course you could even make the aisles a bit wider if you did that. If you moved the clean up zone to the window you would likely lose the desk and some upper cabinet space in so doing. You could put a beverage fridge to the left of the sink to make it convienient to the family room.

Here is a link that might be useful: Stages sink

• joaniepoanie
    10 years ago