Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Over sink cutting boards

Posted by meyersdvm (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 28, 13 at 10:23

Our kitchen reno is finishing up and I am trying to take care of all the final details. We have a Silgranit Performa 1 3/4 sink that I would like to get a cutting board to fit in/over. I saw Blanco's model but have an irrational fear of black walnut (I am a horse vet and it is very dangerous to horses) so would prefer an end-grain cherry or maple board. I found a craftsman to make one for me, but I would like to show him some photos of boards in use. Badgergal posted some a few weeks ago, but her link to photobucket is broken now.
I have the standard 1/8 inch reveal on my sink, but don't have to have a flush mount board. If it fits over the sink and is stable that is fine, too.
Please share any pics of your sink with cutting boards.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Over sink cutting boards

myersdvm, I guess I hit the maximum free bandwidth usage on Photobucket so I am temporarily shut down so I will do the one at a time upload for you to see my cutting board. I wish I would have thought to have my Amish Cabinet makers make me an end grain cherry board for me.
The board I have is very stable. I can put it on either side of my sink but usually have it on the left because my garbage disposal in the smaller bowl on the right. I can cut and just push the scraps off and into the garbage disposal.
Here is an overall view:

o
RE:RE: Over sink cutting boards

Here is a view side view so you can see how it overlaps the counter:

o
RE: RE: RE: Over sink cutting boards

And here is what it looks like on on the bottom. The picture doesn't show the far edge but it looks just like the edge you can see. The little rubber feet allow the board to be used on the counter without sliding around.

o

Thanks Badgergal! Those were the photos I remember seeing and that convinced me I needed an over sink board, too :-)