Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meyersdvm

Over sink cutting boards

Megan Meyers
10 years ago

Our kitchen reno is finishing up and I am trying to take care of all the final details. We have a Silgranit Performa 1 3/4 sink that I would like to get a cutting board to fit in/over. I saw Blanco's model but have an irrational fear of black walnut (I am a horse vet and it is very dangerous to horses) so would prefer an end-grain cherry or maple board. I found a craftsman to make one for me, but I would like to show him some photos of boards in use. Badgergal posted some a few weeks ago, but her link to photobucket is broken now.
I have the standard 1/8 inch reveal on my sink, but don't have to have a flush mount board. If it fits over the sink and is stable that is fine, too.
Please share any pics of your sink with cutting boards.

Thanks!

Comments (11)

• badgergal
    10 years ago

myersdvm, I guess I hit the maximum free bandwidth usage on Photobucket so I am temporarily shut down so I will do the one at a time upload for you to see my cutting board. I wish I would have thought to have my Amish Cabinet makers make me an end grain cherry board for me.
    The board I have is very stable. I can put it on either side of my sink but usually have it on the left because my garbage disposal in the smaller bowl on the right. I can cut and just push the scraps off and into the garbage disposal.
    Here is an overall view:

• badgergal
    10 years ago

Here is a view side view so you can see how it overlaps the counter:

• Megan Meyers
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks Badgergal! Those were the photos I remember seeing and that convinced me I needed an over sink board, too :-)