Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gone_south

Soap dispensers installed in granite?

gone_south
11 years ago

The Delta pulldown faucets we bought for the kitchen come with soap dispensers. My husband things he doesn't want to have the granite drilled for the extra hole and we should stick with the stand-alone soap dispensers we have always used.

I'm thinking the installed version may be less cluttered looking. He's concerned that the installed ones may be a pain to fill, and that if they are a problem we are stuck with a hole in the granite.

I've never used the installed ones before. What do you all recommend, and why?

Comments (48)

• ayerg73
    11 years ago

Some are definitely better than others. The one I have in my tiny basement kitchen is not very good. I bought an Elkay for my main kitchen and I love it.

I did make sure that mine fills from the top (basement dispenser fills from the bottom and it's a pain.)

I was hesitant to put this one in because of my bad experience, but I love this one and use it all the time with no issues. It's nice to keep one more thing off the counter.

• Brent B
    11 years ago

The soap dispensers are a good idea in stone, we have ours in soap stone.

The top just easily pulls off and you refill from the top, and there are many other soap dispensers that can replace if need be.
    Most of the dispensers are plastic underneath the counter, the tops are either metal/brass or plastic, I do like the brass feel and heft.
    For me, I wouldn't like the bottled soap dispensers after having the installed ones.

• juliet11
    11 years ago

We recently got a Delta pulldown faucet (Ashton) and installed the soap dispenser that came with it. We like it - it does look less cluttered than a separate soap dispenser on the counter. You can fill it from the top. We use ours for dish soap and haven't had to refill it that often.

Here's a photo of ours:

• Debbi Branka
    11 years ago