Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrs_wiggley

Painted Glass Walls/Back Splash

mrs.wiggley
9 years ago

I've been thinking about tearing down the horrible brown (not sure what it's called...formica?) on my kitchen walls (under cabinets,behind sinks, etc) and replacing it with glass that has been painted on the back. I've really liked photos I've seen. It has a clean look. But I have no practical experience of its everyday functionality. And I'm not sure where one gets that product. Or perhaps it wouldn't be that hard to do myself. Does anyone have any experience with painted glass? I've added a sample photo so you can see what I mean
:

Comments (17)

• palimpsest
    9 years ago

I got mine from a local glass company. I painted it myself, but they would have done it for me.

They have to template and then try it in, then it gets painted then they install it.

It's not an inexpensive option, but not as expensive as some tile would be.

• mrs.wiggley
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Was the painting a difficult project? What kind and thickness of glass was used and what kind of paint?
    Also, what about maintenance (smudges, hand prints, grease cleanup, etc)?

• palimpsest
    9 years ago

I used Starphire glass (low iron to prevent the greenish cast) and I believe it was 3/8" thick, and tempered after fabrication.

I just used regular latex paint with a roller and multiple thin coats.

It cleaned up easily with a little Windex.

• mrs.wiggley
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks so much for your reply. That was helpful.

• nosoccermom
    9 years ago

I looked into this a couple of months ago. You can also have glass backsplash backprinted on. I actually asked a local company whether they could do this, and it was not very expensive. You can also buy cut tempered glass online and they will ship.
    Now, the main issue is most likely that your walls need to be very straight.

Here is a link that might be useful: thread on digital printing on glass