Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladancer_gw

kitchen floor--wood or tile? Please help.

LAdancer
9 years ago

I have samples of wood looking tile and real engineered wood for our new kitchen. The wood, of course, is appealing but I worry about maintenance since I am a constant cook and have many gatherings. The tile, however, is also attractive but may be hard on the legs and feet over time. It also may not have that "warm" feel in the kitchen and may be less appealing or contemporary. White cabinets coming and tile is complementary with some white and gray tones. Wood is a light taupe shade and not shiny but rather matte in finish. I wonder if anyone has had bad luck with wood? Any regrets with tile? I'd love to hear from you. Thanks so much.

Comments (18)

• nosoccermom
    9 years ago

I think you will get answers supporting either choice. I've had HW floors in my kitchen for 20+ years and no regrets. We used a water-based finish (at the time called Pacific Strong). It's similar to the current Bona Commercial finish.

• ktj459
    9 years ago

We love our hardwood. It's easy to stand on, looks great even with an active young family and large dog, and if we ever need to make it look perfect again, we just sand it down and refinish it. I also think it is harder to date hardwood. Tile colors and shapes go in and out of style, but hardwood is always around.

• sahmmy_gw
    9 years ago