Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rjl443

Working but falling down on details

rjl443
10 years ago

We did a renovation in the late fall/winter and our kitchen is functional again, then we hit exhaustion.

We have IKEA Adel Medium Brown Cabinets
Colonial Cream Granite
Stainless Appliances
Blanco Sinks in Biscotti
Moen faucets in satin nickel

Hardwood floor - we are going to lighten them to natural, but I am wondering if we might need something more durable for cleaning. We have them finished just 4 years ago and it is wearing away already in areas. We have 3 dogs, a cat, a toddler and us. I am a messy cook and the rest aren't much better. What about something like Marmoleum?

We need backsplash, hardware (we put up black Faglavik IKEA ones to make them work but now think they are too dark, I think something else might be nicer, they are 96mm space), paint color, trim/window covering (good thing we don't have neighbors in the back)

Any suggestions on how to get re-motivated for this?

Thank you!
Roberta

Comments (15)

• SparklingWater
    10 years ago

A long time ago (in my youth), a wise person told me to do the hardest task first as a way of re-motivating myself or picking up where I left off. I found it crazy at the time, but then started using this technique and it has done me well over the years. I've tried to teach it too my kids.

Should you wish to try it, pick the one task left you dread the most, and see if you can come up with a time frame and materials to get just it done. Maybe the floors; Marmoleum seems to be pretty durable and popular, and wood floors are hard to keep up. Perhaps it will be just enough to get you over the hump.

Alternatively, live in the moment and enjoy every bite. Your kitchen sounds wonderful, you have each other and your toddler, and life has a way of working itself out one way or the other.

• ideagirl2
    10 years ago