Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mamacassey

HATE my new backsplash!!!

MamaCassey
11 years ago

Hello,�

I'm a newbie here desperately seeking advice. We are weeks away from moving into our newly built home and I hate our backsplash. I've had doubts about it through the whole process but our contractor and my hubby both kept saying "wait for the counters..." "wait for the appliances..." "look in a different light..."

Well I've done all that and hate it more. It competes with my bianco antico (which I wanted to be the star), it picks up blue/grey from the appliances. It's a disaster IMO. How did we go so wrong?!?

I got hubby to ask what our options are for ripping it out and our contractor was not too happy. Hubs is mad because we have to move by the 1st and thinks this will push it back, which we can't have happen. I have agreed to move in, live with itfor a month or so and if I still hate it hubs says we can redo it.�

I will admit I feel very childish, but it's like this has taken the thunder out of our new house. We had such high hopes, and now I can't get past our mistake.�

I desperately need advice! Anyone hated their new bs? What did you do? Is mine as bad as I think? ( I am �actually embarrassed posting these!!) Please be gentle :)

Comments (85)

• northcarolina
    11 years ago

You don't need one more opinion but I also vote to rip off the bandaid quick and do it now. If you live with it for a month, you won't like it any better but by then you will be used to looking at it and probably tired of dealing with anything related to construction. I also think it will be simpler to deal with before the range hood goes in.