Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
neilar_gw

Seeking Layout Critique

neilar
14 years ago

Hi Everyone,

I'm going to try to post both a jpg file and an excel file that contain my kitchen layout. Regarding the layout, does it seem like I'm trying to cram much into a small to medium sized space? Also, the short side of the "L" is 30" deep, while the long side is 26". Aesthetically, will that look weird?

Thanks in advance for all input!

Rose

{{!gwi}}

Comments (31)

• chefkev
    14 years ago

I'm not a layout expert, but I'll jump in with a couple of comments just to start the ball rolling. My kitchen is close to the same size as yours so I think it's all about packing in as much as you can comfortably and with good clearances. I like the overall layout and your work triangle. It would help if you would post all entrances and walls. I'm not sure what's on the opposite side of the long wall. I assume the top left is an entry way.

1. Assuming that on your island, the blocked off area that says seating is 12" of counter overhang, I'm concerned about the passageway between the island and the fridge & nearby wall. It looks like it's only 30" - If that's the case, it's awfully narrow.

2. The microwave is a long ways away from everything besides the fridge. Is there any chance of fitting it on the other side of the fridge? I can't tell exactly what is wall and what is available space

3. If the opposite side of the refrigerator/microwave/storage area is a wall, could you fit a pantry there?

It will be fun to see what the layout guru's here have to say - best wishes!

• rhome410
    14 years ago

It seems pretty good to me. Will you have uppers or a pantry anywhere to give you additional storage? What is to the left of the island?

I think the difference in counter depth will work just fine, and is a smart idea.

• neilar
    Original Author
    14 years ago