Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meisocal

Kitchen/Great Room Remodel

meisocal
10 years ago

Hello Everyone,

I wanted to thank everyone for all the knowledge share. I wanted to let you in on my current project. I am a home cook and DH is a professional chef. You will see in the liked album that our just was not working for both of us. The lack of counter space and being closed off from the made our 1200sf home feel tiny when we had company over. Hopefully you will see in the album that we are basically making one great room. We are opening up the wall between the kitchen/DR and the LR and include a breakfast bar. We will also be installing Brazilian Teak throughout the great room and the hallway to get rid of the horribly dirty beige carpet.

We plan to basically surround the entire room with (Bordeaux Shaker) base cabinets and only have uppers above the breakfast bar and the DR wall. We will use glass insert doors for the LR and DR facing cabinets. Our dining table will be moved to the middle of the room. We will replace the large window in the DR to make room for additional cabinets since the window did not close properly. The window above the sink has the same problem but will be replaced with a same sized window. To tie the kitchen/DR together, we will use LED recessed lighting through out.

The reasoning behind the layout will be:
1)No moving of plumbing or gas supply lines
2) Electrical needs to be reworked because there are circuit issues such as microwave/hood and stove are on the same circuit and the plugs are on the same circuit as the master bedroom.
3) Add cabinets to increase storage and counter space.
4) Raised breakfast bar for additional seating during entertaining and also for one person meals.
5) Cabinets above breakfast bar for additional storage showcase for various collectibles.
6) DR side needs a working bar and a "office: hub.