Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zazutoo_gw

Initial designs of a new project in Wisconsin

zazutoo
13 years ago

We've met with the designer of our design/build team twice. Today, we got our initial designs and right away a few jumped out at us, and a few were no-goes. I have been lurking, asking questions, and reading on this list for months now and really hope to get some comments from this group. Be gentle (not really), I am a novice at this renovation game. We've always lived with what we have, now we want to live with what we want. Any words of wisdom will be more than appreciated. And thanks, for such an interesting, educational, and fun community!

Our house was built in 1929 and we have lived in it for three years. We have found it charming and inviting but we need to make better use of the first floor. We intend to preserve some of the feeling of our house as it is. We want to take out walls, reconfigure rooms, and possibly put on an addition. The addition part depends completely on the cost.

{{gwi:1864923}}>Our house from the front

Remodel goals:

-A great cooking kitchen that two very bossy people can work in at the same time

-new appliances, new cabinets, new countertop, new floor for the kitchen

-an island or pennsula for breakfast seating and home work doing

-a powder room (toilet and sink)

-storage on the first floor (right now, there is no closet or storage space)

-a more flexible living room and dining room by taking out walls

-putting in a wall of bookcases/storage units

-incorporating the "3-season" porch into the dining room (As it is uninsulated and unheated it is hardly a one season room in wisconsin)

Our family: