Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
solar tube placement in kitchen remodel

Posted by mizfitz (My Page) on
Tue, May 3, 11 at 17:29

We have an interior kitchen that needs to be brightened up. I am looking to install a 14" solatube in my kitchen remodel to solve the light issues. Ideally, I would love to place it over the kitchen sink, but am concerned about glare on the stainless sink basin. Has anyone installed a solar tube directly over a stainless steel sink?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: solar tube placement in kitchen remodel

hi mizfitz. If you have a solar tube over the sink will you have another way to light the sink at night or when it's cloudy outside? I'd hesitate to make it my only light source by the sink. OTOH, SolaTube does have a light add on kit so you can add regular lighting to the tube. Are you planning on this? (We have SolaTubes in 2 interior bathrooms and I love them, but I have no experience with the add on light kit.)

I wouldn't worry about glare. A solar tube can brighten up a room, but at least with the ones we have the cover on the opening diffuses the light, so it's more of an overall brightening in the room than a focused light. (Also, most SS sinks I've seen have a brushed finish which would reduce glare.)

Are you looking for an overall brightening of the room? Depending on the size of your kitchen you might want more than one, and I'd lean toward placing them where you could benefit from ambient rather than focused light. (e.g., not over the sink, over an island, or to light counters) unless you use the add on light kits to light those spaces at night.

The SolaTube site has some technical resources that might help.

Here is a link that might be useful: SolaTube technical resources

o