Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
KAW: A Decidedly Decadent Dessert

Posted by leela4 (My Page) on
Wed, May 22, 13 at 17:21

I've never done a KAW before. Whenever I've thought about it, I've either gotten to the final product without remembering or thinking about photos along the way, or I'm too much in a hassled time crunch to want to do it. Plus I don't have high end/fancy appliances (although I know that's irrelevant) to show off.

But. This time I planned ahead, partially because there are several steps to this, and also because it is so outside of our ''normal'' way of eating. I really don't make desserts often - mainly just for special occasions. I had friends for dinner last week to celebrate a birthday. Instead of making the usual chocolate flourless cake that my friend loves, I made Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Egg Rolls. Full disclosure: this is NOT an original recipe. DD1 lives in Madison,WI, and a favorite restaurant there is called Bluephies. This is from a cookbook from that restaurant.

First I made a chocolate sauce:
 photo IMG_1055_zps8bdb9bed.jpg

Then, the dough (no eggs in this):
 photo IMG_1059_zps26a05cfc.jpg

Then, you put them in a wonton wrapper:
 photo IMG_1061_zpsd8324ff7.jpg
 photo IMG_1062_zps917d551c.jpg
 photo IMG_1063_zpsf8786bd5.jpg

And then you freeze them:
 photo IMG_1065_zpsb830a0cc.jpg

And for the final, really decadent part, you deep fat fry them. Seriously, I probably haven't deep fat fried anything in 40 years. But, anything for a friend:
 photo IMG_1066_zps0f2839c9.jpg
 photo IMG_1067_zps57a92ef4.jpg

Happy birthday, Mo.
 photo IMG_1071_zpsa36e3162.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: KAW: A Decidedly Decadent Dessert

This post is worthless without a recipe.

That looks decadent, fattening and delicious! Way to tease us without posting the recipe! ;)

o

yum!!! Recipe please!!!

o

Recipe? No way - I'll just have one of those! My birthday is in December - do they mail well? ;P

o