Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sayde_gw

Anyone with a copper range hood?

sayde
13 years ago

I'm thinking about it. It would work so well in my kitchen. Compared to a similar size and shape in stainless (42 inch wide dome shape) it would cost more, or course, but not as much as I had feared. (And, I rationalize, the insert which would be 35-40% of the cost would be the same in either case.) I would get a medium patina, lacquered, as I have read that bare copper, while beautiful, would be a real challenge to maintain. Am looking at companies like Vogler and The Metal Peddler. Anyone have a copper hood? Any advice or suggestions?

Comments (9)

• beachpea3
    13 years ago

Bump - My DH would love one.

• Danahills
    13 years ago

I have a Rangemaster copper hood that I have had for 26 years. It is antiqued copper and still looks new. Never had any problem taking care of it. I love it.

• allison0704
    13 years ago

We had a custom copper hood, but it was built on site. The carpenters who installed the cabinetry made the bottom trim from antique pine and the frame. My HVAC guy measured and cut the copper sheeting for me.

if you are interested in this type of hood, I have four pictures that show the process.

Allison

Here is a link that might be useful: my kitchen

• monkeymo
    13 years ago

Allison - your kitchen is beautiful!

• sayde
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Allison -- would love to have information on how your hood was made. Sent you an email

• allison0704
    13 years ago

Thank you, Monkeymo!

Sayde, I will check email in a minute, but I don't mind posting info here. Have before. I've linked pictures below.

I used a VAH liner. 48" range. Liner was that or close. I don't recall exact length.

The first photo shows location before hood was started. DH and I recessed the medallion into the wall.