Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peachymomo_gw

Looking for kitchen layout advice

peachymomo
10 years ago

I am in the planning (and saving up money) stage of a kitchen remodel. My DH is a carpenter by trade and is going to do much of the work himself, I will help with things that don’t require a lot of skill. He has been building and remodeling houses for more than 30 years, so he's pretty knowledgeable about what can and cannot be done. The one thing that we are both set on is removing the wall that separates the kitchen from the living room, we are tired of the inefficient and cut-off layout that we have now.

Right now we have a galley kitchen with countertops that are 6’ apart and a door to the laundry room at the end. The door is not used terribly often, most traffic to and from the kitchen is by way of the front or sliding glass doors. Sometimes there are two cooks in the kitchen but not often, DH loves to grill outdoors and I love to grow fruits and veggies and cook with them. Apple harvest always involves hours of processing and cooking apples into pies, applesauce, etc. I currently have no where to put things after I bake them, I love the idea of having a raised bar on the island that can be used as a cooling area.