Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jerseygirl135

Need Help with Kitchen Layout!

jerseygirl135
9 years ago

Hi GWers!

I am a newbie here and I'm hoping someone can help me out with my kitchen layout. I listed 3 options I'm contemplating over and need you to opine. Thanks in advance for all of your comments / suggestions. Hopefully the floor plan is legible.

Here is some background (sorry if it's too long!):

We are a family of 4 (2 adults / 2 kids - Ages 7 and 4). We live in a split-level home and if you ever lived in a split level home, you'll know that the kitchens and dining rooms are generally VERY small. I can see myself living here until the kids go off to college, but at the same time we've also been house hunting for the last couple of years hoping to find something. It doesn't look like that's going to happen soon given how crazy the housing market has been here. My thought now (not DH's) is we might as well update our kitchen to the way we like it and if something comes up, our home will at least be updated (and hopefully sell quickly) or stay where we are and enjoy our house with the new updates. Our kitchen cabinets were updated 14 years ago when we first moved in. It was built by a custom cabinetmaker who in the end did a terrible job (this is a whole other story), but bottom line was that the cabinets were poorly constructed.