Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
watboy

corian vs granite.

watboy
15 years ago

Hello all this is my first time posting on this forum. I am currently considering redoing my entire kitchen. I just got a quote last week for all wood maple cabinets, Corian counter tops I was quoted $21,000 my kitchen is tiny so I was surpsied I have about 11 feet of cabinets a total of 16 cabinets. Is that a good price? Also is Corian or Granie better? I can't seem to pick between the too. Which one is cheaper? The guy said he would give me a free integrated sink, free faucet and 4 cabinets for free. Having lived a bit I know nothing is free. Please help me out here this is my first major renovation ever.

Comments (27)

• weissman
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Does the $21K include the cabinets or is that just for the Corian - if just for the Corian it's outrageously high - how many sq. ft. of countertop do you have? If it's for the cabinets and countertops it's probably in the right ball park.

Corian vs. granite is a volatile topic. The costs are actually pretty close depending on which granite you choose. Some of us prefer natural stone over artificial plastic (can you see my bias :-) but there are many people who like the uniformity of Corian. You really need to go out and look at granite and Corian counters and decide for yourself - there's no right answer - it's a purely personal decision.

• ccoombs1
    15 years ago