Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scrappy25

very interesting articles on CFM and makeup air; 250 cfm suffices

scrappy25
10 years ago

In my search for information on makeup air requirements in Maryland I found this very interesting article on "green building advisor" which seems to be against the norm here on gardenweb for large and powerful ventilation systems. Obviously this article is intended for the usual kitchen and not those fiery Wolf type gas ranges.The author describes his difficulty in getting information on MUA installation from GE and concludes that 250 cfm is sufficient for most residential kitchens. I'm interested in what the kitchen designers and semi-pros (including self taught ones) think of this article.

I linked the mail one below but here are two other related articles from the same website.

http://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/blogs/dept/green-building-curmudgeon/why-range-hoods-don-t-work

http://www.greenbuildingadvisor.com/blogs/dept/qa-spotlight/dealing-high-capacity-range-hood

Don't throw stones, i am not affiliated with this company, just earnestly seeking advice on this confusing and seemingly controversial subject.

Here is a link that might be useful: Makeup air discussion

Comments (11)

• rovo
    10 years ago

Unfortunately, I can't help you with an expert opinion but wanted to say that I share your pain! I tried forever to figure out the MUA requirements for my municipality and spoke to all the local experts, who acted like they had never pondered the question and thought I was nuts. In the end, I found the same article you linked and realized that for our meager needs, 250 CFM was probably ok. I'm sure some will disagree, and many here have far more powerful range hood requirements, so I think the best you can do is use your best judgement given your unique circumstances. I'll just keep opening that window as usual and powering up my standard grade vent hood!

• palimpsest
    10 years ago