Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karlsmom

Any regrets with white cabinetry?

karlsmom
10 years ago

My kitchen remodeling inspiration pictures all have off-white cabinets, that's what I'm leaning towards. But I am scared of staining, dirty fingerprints, etc. My parents had (still have!) the 1950's white metal cabinets, I remember a grayish halo around each pull. I am a messy cook, DH needs glasses, the kids - being kids - don't care. Within the past week, we had spillage of beets, red wine, chocolate cake batter, egg yolks and pink lemonaide.

Is cleaning white painted cabs a big issue? A few years down the road, any regrets? I know this kitchen renovation will probably be the only one in this house, DH is not gung ho about it. But regular wood stained cabs leave me cold, can't work up an interest. There's dark wood trim and paneling in this house, a lot of wood.

Our local cabinet maker assured me that his painted finish is awesome and we won't have any trouble. What has been your experience? How long will a painted finish look good? Will I regret this 5 - 10 years down the road?

Comments (18)

• joaniepoanie
    10 years ago

Well, I painted our old cabinets white---primed, sanded a lot, used high quality oil-based paint. They looked great and it lasted a long time, but I did get chipping at corners...you may not have the problem with a professional paint job. BUT, yes, it was hard to keep them clean, especially the nooks and crannies on the panel doors. Again, this may not be as much of an issue with a professional paint job...but white is white and will show more everything than a medium or darker tone. I love the look of white cabinets, but I was ready for a change when we redid the kitchen and went with natural maple to keep things light in our dark kitchen. In the end, get what you want....if you really like white cabinets and get wood, you won't be happy looking at them everyday. Just know going in they may require a little more upkeep.

• nosoccermom