Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fumet_gw

new kitchen project - please help!

fumet
10 years ago

Hi,

I am starting the process of ripping out the old kitchen and putting in a new one.. hoping to complete around oct/nov this year.

I have never done this before.. its our first house that we bought 2 years ago. It's in London, UK and therefore quite a small kitchen - so most of my thought currently is about space and layout.

Current kitchen is an IKEA kitchen (I think) and we don't like it,.. mainly for design reasons. The kitchen is quite small, the cabinets dark and large (esp wall cabinets) and the light is quite one-directional : the room feels even smaller than it is.

We are considering either keeping the same layout and making aesthetic changes or a complete upheaval and moving everything around - but we don't know where to start. We would like :-

- Open shelving instead of wall cabinets
- racks/shelves for the pans etc
- Painted cabinets, wood tops
- 100cm range cooker (large I know, but cooking is a priority)

We already have a large fridge which we would preferably keep, and a standard size dishwasher which we dont mind getting rid of if the design "insists" on it. They are both stainless steel. I might get a slimline dishwasher which might fit better next to the sink as we would like a single butlers sink and I think that would be bigger than a small undermount?

The breakfast room is the small room on the other side.. currently divided by an annoying pillar which we are looking into removing if we can get a structural engineer in agreement. In the layout pic, the main kitchen area is at the bottom and the breakfast room is at the top.