Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nyseguy

Marble countertop cost - Long Island

nyseguy
10 years ago

Hello all-

I am a newbie to the GW site looking for some input/help.

My wife and I will be starting our kitchen renovation next week. I am performing all of the work but need to outsource the counter-tops.

We have always loved the look of Calacatta marble, so we went back the fabricator who we have dealt with before for other home projects.

Price is a determining factor- so I wanted a rough estimate of what ballpark we would be in.

The quote they gave me for approximately 60 sq ft of Calacatta Statuario installed was $17k to $19k. (We never discussed the edging either.) When I asked why there was a $2k difference in the price they said it depends on what slab and what yard they source the materials from.

My island will be almost 10' long and 42" wide in the center- so they said that will need it's own slab. The other two pieces consist of approximately a 42" run and a 78"x 66" el.

Can anyone share their thoughts on this; is this in the right ballpark?

Thanks so much...

Comments (26)

• 8mpg
    10 years ago

All I can say is OMG that is a lot. I dont know exactly how much it should cost but I just didnt see it $285/ft.

• lafacia
    10 years ago

Based on my very recent experience shopping for marble i think you could find some nice calacatta marble - installed with cut outs and whatever edge you like - for half that - still expensive but $285 sq. ft is crazy.

• Vertise
    10 years ago

Sounds outrageous to me too. When I was looking around, it was $100 as I recall, possibly could have been $120. Did not run into anything running $300 or anything near. Stone pricing has come down quite a bit since then due to the economy. The more expensive $100 stones back then are selling for more like $70 now.

This is not NY but is an expensive area.

Regardless, I sure wouldn't pay that much! lol Even if I had a money tree out back.

• lincolnduncan
    10 years ago