Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jfnewhouse

do you have Pietra Cardosa or Soapstone that you keep grey?

jfnewhouse
10 years ago

I've had soapstone in my current home and I love it- a hard dark variety with beautiful veins. I've been loving it for over 6 years- no problems.
Much as I would love to have it in my new house, I am thinking the kitchen layout can't handle all that black, and so I am looking for something more grey (granite and manufactured need not apply- do not want a shiny surface). I have seen Virginia mist, but it's not my ideal- I would like to see veins and it's usually too homogeneous for my tastes.
1) Do you have pietra cardosa?I have heard conflicting reports about needing to seal. Can't seem to find links on gardenweb for previous threads on this. If you have it, can you comment on etching or spotting? For example, what if you wanted to make fondant on it- kneading crisco/ marshmallows/ powdered sugar. Would it cause a spot that would not come out?
2) Have you had a soapstone counter that you kept in the grey phase? How do you do it? I have heard that wiping with solvents like acetone removes the black patina, but I worry about the softness of grey/ pale soapstones, or having patches of it constantly look darker (where using olive oil etc). That sounds like too much upkeep for me.
I'd love your input- but especially if you have this in your own home.
Thanks!

Comments (25)

• remodelfla
    10 years ago

I have a harder variety with tons of veining. I typically only wax when we're going to have a big party... so maybe once every couple or three months. Mine doesn't go really gray, more like washed out black jeans or a deep charcoal. That's how they are right now. If you needs, I can take a couple of pics (once I clean up... in the middle of cooking right now!)

• doc8404
    10 years ago