Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
atrapnell

Slate vs granite farmhouse sink

atrapnell
9 years ago

We are currently building a new house. I want a farmhouse sink and am trying to decide between a honed granite sink (black/grayish) and a dark gray slate sink. I love the look of both and the cost is about the same, once we pay shipping. From what I understand, the granite sink is cut out of a solid piece of granite. The slate sink would be put together from 5 pieces cut from a slate slab. Any advice? Pros/cons of each? What about durability and maintenance. Thanks for your help!

Comments (20)

• cherryrosh
    9 years ago

According to my view, granite is better than slate because slate can scratch easily and make them less visible where as granite will not scratch easily and can be cleaned with a mild soap and water..
    So, it is better to use granite.....

• atrapnell
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the input! This is my first time to "build" and making all the decisions is hard!
    I think we are going with river bourdeaux granite. The perimeter cabinets will be painted a creamish color (yet to be determined) and the island will be a stained dark. Floors not yet selected.

Here is a picture of river bordeaux granite:
    https://www.houzz.com/photos/river-bordeaux-granite-counter-tops-traditional-kitchen-albuquerque-phvw-vp~8835934-Bordeaux-Granite-Counter-Tops-traditional-kitchen-albuquerque

The honed granite sink I'm considering (the dark one)
    https://www.stoneforest.com/kitchen-bath/products/view/120

And a slate sink:
    https://www.houzz.com/photos/custom-kitchen-in-libertyville-farmhouse-kitchen-chicago-phvw-vp~695389-1-Custom-Kitchen-traditional-kitchen-chicago

Either one, I will have to order w/out first seeing it. Sheldon slate is sending me sample slates, though, to choose from.

Thanks for your advice! =)

• atrapnell
    Original Author
    9 years ago