Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
spincrazy25_gw

Meeting cabinet guy tomorrow...and had last minute idea!

spincrazy25
15 years ago

I'm hoping for a tie-breaker. DH and I like both plans, but differ on a favorite. Help!

2a was the frontrunner. Pros: Lots of upper and lower cab space, DH happy with fridge location. Cons: Maybe confining, don't think one level counter would work.

{{gwi:1794441}}

Came up with this today. Pros: Gives the feel of island that I wanted, one level counter. Cons: Location of fridge doesn't allow the freezer to open fully. Dishwasher location?

Comments (12)

• kelleg69
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Do you already own the fridge? If not, couldn't you do French doors on top and the bottom pullout freezer? i like the look of the second one. I do think not being able to open the freezer might be annoying.

I am no layout expert, so I hope others will chime in.

• Buehl
    15 years ago

Of the two, I like 2a the best...probably no surprise there!

Option 2a:

Why won't a one-level counter work in 2a? I think it would work just as well in 2a as in 4. I like one-level better.

I think you have quite a bit more storage w/this layout.

BTW...if the cabinet in the corner faces the breakfast nook, then you will only need 3" for filler on the base of the "U" to allow the DW to open past any drawer handles on the leg of the "U" adjacent to it. You'll also need 3" on the leg but, if you use a 27"W cabinet in that corner, then the 3" of filler will be automatically provided by the 27" cabinet (27" - 24" = 3")

It actually looks like both the peninsula cabinets face the breakfast nook...is this the case? If so, then you'll need even less filler on the base of the "U" since you won't have doors/drawers & handles to clear...maybe only 1" or 2". OR, is that cabinet on the leg a 2-way cabinet...i.e., opens from both sides?

The refrigerator location in this layout is a really big "pro"...