Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
megamuffin_gw

Help with overlay panels on my Sub Zero!

Megamuffin
11 years ago

My contractors installed my Sub Zero a few months ago. It is a built-in 36 inch fridge/freezer unit. We put full overlay panels on it, to match the rest of my cabinetry. But what I can't figure out is am I supposed to be able to see into the compressor unit from the side? There is at least an inch between the cleats and the metal frame that is behind the panel and I can look all the way into the unit. My contractor was out today and he is talking about widening the box and pushing the fridge back, so that the cleats no longer butt up against the frame. This might solve the problem of being able to see inside the compressor, but I'm wondering if we are missing something else?

Thanks SO much to anyone who can offer some tips. I would also LOVE to see your pictures of how your paneled SZ looks from the side.

I am new to doing this - hope I did it right! Lighting is tough but I think you can see the hinges and internal workings...

another view

Comments (21)

• pence
    11 years ago

thats how mine looks too, though mine is 8 years old, i thought they would have improved that by now. Well, they have if you buy the truly built in one for several more thousand, I guess.

I bet it has something to do with "breathing" but i would look at your installation manual before you let anyonte do anything to it. You dont want them to cover that gap if it truly needs to breathe. Plus if he makes the opening bigger then your cabinet on top will not fit. Be careful not to void your warranty.

Really, you are probably the only one who notices, anyone looking at it dead on will not see a thing

• MrsBungaloonie
    11 years ago

Mine is a GE Monogram and I was also distressed when I saw that gap in the top panel.