Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
aussies_gw

How to write a job specification for contractors to bid on?

aussies
15 years ago

I'm trying to put together a written job description for contractors to bid on. I have a book that gives an example and makes some recommendations, but I'm new to this and would like some more input.

Did anyone here write a job description or did your KD write one? Any tips on what to include?

Any help would be much appreciated!

Comments (26)

• maydl
    15 years ago

My job description was much longer and more detailed than most "samples" in kitchen books and magazines. The more details you can include, the less you will eventually be charged for "change orders" or things the contractor doesn't believe were included in the contract.

If you would like a copy of mine, respond to this post and give me your e-mail address, and I will send it to you as an attachment.

• cbreeze
    15 years ago

Maydl,Can you send me a copy of your job description ?
    Thanks
    igetcbreeze@yahoo.com

• aussies
    Original Author
    15 years ago

maydl, I would love to get a copy of your job description, but I would rather not post my email address here. Could you please send me an email via the email link on "My Page"? I will try posting it here as a link too ... Then I would you email back so you can send the attachment.

Thanks for your help!!

Here is a link that might be useful: Link to email me ...

• mls99
    15 years ago

This was mine:
    1. Obtain all required permits and inspections
    2. Remove and dispose of old kitchen and appliances - keeping dishwasher
    3. Replace windows in dining room and kitchen, and remove/dispose of old windows and window treatments
    4. Close off doorway to sitting room
    5. Open up existing doorway to dining room: remove wall to dining room, and patch ceiling, floor, and walls
    6. Plumbing
    - Remove baseboard heat in kitchen
    - Tie off plumbing for old sink, disposal, and dishwasher