Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Wondering about pendant lights/soffit

Posted by justretired (My Page) on
Sat, Apr 27, 13 at 21:32

Hi. I am new to kitchens and hope you can give me some good advice.

We are about to remove the cabinets over our kitchen peninsula but will be leaving the soffit (don't ask:). It has been my dream to have pendant lights. However, it has been suggested to me that they will not look good because the rod or the hangy part (can't think of the name) will be too short. So now i am rethinking. Would recessed be better? I was really hoping for cool pendants but not if they look inappropriate.

Any suggestions? Pictures?
Cross-posted in home decorating..

Please help.

Thank you.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Wondering about pendant lights/soffit

Just as a head's up---we removed the cabinets above our peninsula over a year ago. After looking at the soffit sticking out with no cabinets under it, we bumped up the date of our kitchen Reno. Almost done now.

I could never figure out what to do with the soffits and lights either......

o

Hello Heidi

I do wish we could take the soffit down. Our concern (and that of our carpenter) is that we will not be able to match the texture in the ceiling and will have this odd stripe running across the kitchen.

Honestly, there are so many issues here and we are just not able to fix everything. yes we have popcorn ceilings (tho a lighter popcorn than some I have seen) and the same ceiling would have to be redone down a hallway and into a family room as they run together.

Anyway, the popcorn is a small part of what needs updating. We are just trying to do some small things that will improve the overall look. The cabinet over the peninsula will HAVE to make things look better, right?

Sorry to rant, you are fortunate to be able to redo your space. I hope it turns out to be everything you want and that you enjoy it for many years to come.

jr

o