Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elissahart

Reveal of our smallish white and gray kitchen

elissahart
11 years ago

I've been hanging out here for a few months and have learned a lot. Plus I always love seeing what other folks have done and I adore the pictures of newly renovated kitchens. We are now done with our remodel so I thought I'd return the favor! Here goes.

The old kitchen had a bunch of issues: not enough storage or countertop space, no ventilation, peeling paint on the cabinets, hideous vinyl floor, and stained butcher block countertops.

Here's the old kitchen:

There was a bunch of unused space in the eating area--we stuck our microwave and recycling bins in this area:

Although the old kitchen had a number of issues,we found the layout to be reasonably functional (given the constraints of the house--it's a 1935 brick colonial with a 1970's-era addition on the back). We did not have the budget or the patience for a major remodel that would involve an addition and/or moving walls around, and we generally like the layout of the rest of the house. So we decided to keep the basic floorplan while replacing everything and making some changes around the edges. We added shallow lower cabinets and a strip of countertop to the wasted space in the eating area, with open shelving above. We added an externally vented hood and switched to a wood floor that matches the rest of the flooring on the first floor of the house. We went with two big lower drawers instead of cabinets for pot and pan storage. Here are some pictures of the new kitchen--I'll list all the details at the end.

Counters: Caesarstone Raven
Floors: oak stained to match the rest of the first floor
Cabinets: local custom shaker cabs in "frosty white"
Hardware: Top Knobs
Sink: Kohler Whitehaven
Faucet: Delta Allora
Backsplash: Solistone Mardi Gras in Carollton
Range: GE Cafe gas with double oven
Dishwasher: Bosch SHX33RL5UC
Refrigerator: Kitchen Aid Counter Depth French Door
Hood: Zephyr Savona 30"