Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lavender_lass

Can you cut 2" off the edge of a laminate countertop...

lavender_lass
10 years ago

Can you cut 2" off the side end of a laminate countertop....or will it damage the laminate? I've seen TV 'gurus' cut it with tape over the top, but I think that was from the bottom and this is just trimming it 'as is' in the kitchen.

And...if it damages the laminate...is it difficult to cover that area with ceramic tile? I might put tile on each side of the range anyway...and this area would only be about 18" wide.

Thanks in advance :)

Comments (7)

• juliekcmo
    10 years ago

Is the side "trimmed" with laminate edging? Or would the raw edge be OK.

I believe that laminate is designed to cut fairly simply with the proper tools and techniques.

The ends can be trimmed with the matching laminate trim, which is affixed with an adhesive that is activated by an iron on a low temp (from what I see on TV makeover shows. I have no first hand experience.)

• Fori
    10 years ago

I enlarged a drop-in sink hole in a laminate counter once. It was old school laminate with chrome trim. I used an electric jigsaw with a new blade and it was okay. Of course, I was covering up my cut so it might not have been THAT great! Ask the guys at Lowe's (they owe ya, right? :P) how to cut the prefab laminate--people do it all the time with that stuff!

On an unrelated topic (seriously--the sink was fine!) I did tile over a scuffed-up laminate bathroom countertop and tub surround and it held. I think it would be fine on a small patch of counter.

• PRO
    Joseph Corlett, LLC
    10 years ago

lavander_lass:

You can trim a laminate counter, but you're going to have to remove it to do a professional job.

If you're cutting off 2", make a test cut at the 1" mark to see how much chipping you'll get. Chipping can be minimized with saw blade selection (circular not jig saw) and tape.