Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Black Galaxy granite opinions??

Posted by koolforkatz (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 28, 10 at 19:51

I am a newbie here and have spent the past several months lurking and reading and learning so much through all the wonderful posts on here. My new flooring was installed last week, my cabinets yesterday and I am now down to the crunch and have to pick out a countertop tomorrow as the fellow is coming by to measure. My cabinets are Ikea Adel Medium Brown, if anyone is familiar with that, and the flooring a handshaved reddish-brown. About a wall and a half of the kitchen is mostly windows, southern exposure, so I"m pretty sure we have enough light to easily have a black countertop. I was going to go with Absolute but then thought I wanted a bit more punch. My husband loves Black Galaxy and I love it, too, especially when it "twinkles." My only concern is whether I will "love it long time." I generally don't like fussy but prefer simpler but like I say, I really do like the look of the Galaxy. Any thoughts at all??? Cleanup isn't so much a concern. I wipe my counters every day anyway and am committed to having to do so religiously if I go with black granite. Thanks so much :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Black Galaxy granite opinions??

Doesn't Black Galaxy have tiny copper colored sparkles in it? I think that would look great with your medium brown cabinets.

o

I have black galaxy, actually star galaxy with the same cabinets you have. I love it. You can't hurt this granite and it doesn't need sealing. My kitchen doesn't get much light and it still looks fine. Give me a minute and I will send you some pictures.

o

I have Black Galaxy for 1.5 years since re-doing my kitchen. I love it -- easy to clean, bullet -proof and the twinkle at night is just gorgeous! Yes, the flecks are copper. If you love it then go for it! Good luck! :)

o