Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krishoel001

Kitchen layout - comments and suggestions?

krishoel001
11 years ago

We are very lucky to be building a new home starting this spring/summer and are enjoying the design process. I welcome comments and suggestions on our latest kitchen layout. Here are the details we know so far:

Mainly, this is a house for two people, my husband and I. We have two children who are in college nearby and will be visiting us for breaks periodically and living with us over summers for 4-5 years to come. For a short time, we might get a bounceback after college graduation! Sometimes my husband and I work together in the kitchen, but usually it’s just me. I am a semi-serious cook, and we entertain large groups at holiday times and for family and friend celebrations. The kitchen will be a gathering space for friends and family during these times. We have a separate dining room that will be used far less frequently than the kitchen eating area.

The overall style of the house is contemporary/modern. Floors will be wood, likely fir or maple. Interiors of windows are fir. Cabinets will be cherry, slab panels. We have not chosen countertop materials yet, but I am thinking of soapstone or granite. Counters in the kitchen are 30” deep. Upper cabinets next to vent hood will be 14” deep, upper cabinet next to ovens will go to the countertop and be 12” deep. I have had, for 18 years, 30” deep counters and I love them. No problems with reaching things - at 6’0” I am the shortest person in my house by about 4”.

Pantry measures 5’6” x 5’6”. It will have counters, some open and closed storage below (drawers, mostly), and open shelving above for food storage. I hope to keep all small electrics (mixer, coffee maker, cuisinart, etc.) in pantry on counter to lessen clutter on the kitchen counters. Currently, counters are designed at 24” deep and upper shelves at 12” deep. I would appreciate your thoughts on this -- both seem too deep to me.