Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarahmn1

double oven in the corner?

sarahmn1
10 years ago

Hi everybody, we are building a house and I'm currently working on the kitchen design. I'm terrible at describing things, but it will go refrigerator, built in microwave, range / hood on one wall, and then double oven in the corner, and then around the other wall, sink and dishwasher. We'll have a center island that runs parallel to the refrigerator wall. Does anybody have experience with a double oven built into the corner? The builder says I'll have enough room to stand in front of the oven and open it without bumping into the corner of the island but I was curious if anybody had any experience with this type of layout. Thanks for your help!

Comments (15)

• Dubo Dan
    10 years ago

Do you have a kitchen design design you can upload? I am no expert but my immediate thoughts would be to move the oven somewhere else. I am imagining taking a heavy dish out and hitting the wall or cabinets next to you. I would also make sure that the corner it is on will not interfere with how you put food in and take it out of your oven. If you usually approach your oven from the left and the wall is on the left the that would obviously be no good.

• Texas_Gem
    10 years ago

My double ovens are in the corner, then a 21 inch countertop, then my range. This set up works nicely for me. I don't have an island to worry about behind me though.

• sarahmn1
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is a picture of the proposed layout. Sorry it's sideways - I can never figure out how to make my iphone shots work head on. Builder is telling me there is enough room to pull down the oven standing directly in front of it. I can't decide if having the island behind me will annoy me regardless! The other option would basically be to switch the double oven and the microwave. I'm worried that it will make the kitchen look heavy on that side with the two biggest appliances next to each other. Maybe not?