Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
isixpacku

Please help me pick my backsplash color - Encore crackle tile

isixpacku
9 years ago

I think I have decided which backsplash I want but I wanted to get other's opinions before finalizing my decision. I am looking at the Encore crackle tile. The place which sells this tile thinks Ecru is the better color to use but I think I prefer Smoke. I will post pictures below.

I am also in love with the quartz tile in Olive but think it would be too much to use as my backsplash everywhere.

My granite is Typhoon Bordeaux, the cabinets are stained knotty alder in a color yet to be finalized but close to the color of the cabinet pictured, and we will have a 48" copper sink.

I would love if you don't mind sharing your opinions. Thanks!

Pictures of cabinet, granite piece, floor tile, and backsplash

Ecru

Smoke

Olive

Granite slab

Comments (13)

• LCaroline12
    9 years ago

I'm no expert, but just wanted to say that your granite slab is stunning! If it were me, I would try to go neutral as possible for the backsplash and let your granite be the star! I *think* I detect blueish grey tones in your granite so I think the Olive might try to compete too much. My vote is either Ecru or Smoke!

• michellemarie
    9 years ago

I wouldn't make a backsplash decision until your granite is installed. When your granite is installed bring home a bunch of tile samples and look at them in your lighting and look at them often. Most of the tile samples I thought were perfect in the tile store ended up looking not so great in my kitchen. Your paint colors, lighting, number of windows will all affect how the tile looks.
    Good Luck

• sjhockeyfan325
    9 years ago

In addition to the things michelle mentioned, just the fact that once installed, the granite is horizontal rather than vertical makes a difference in how it looks with a particular tile. In the abstract, however, I like the smoke best.

• Kathy Rivera
    9 years ago