Return to the Kitchens Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to use paint stripper on kitchen cabinets

Posted by FiftiesRedo (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 21, 11 at 11:16

I recently learned how to use paint stripper to remove paint off my kitchen cabs. Now I can't believe I ever used sand paper! It's so quick and easy.

I figured I'd pass on the info on how to do it, in case you want to reface your own kitchen cabinets.

Here is a link that might be useful: HOW TO USE PAINT STRIPPER

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to use paint stripper on kitchen cabinets

Sounds like another SPAM to me. If you're for real, why don't you tell us something about what you did?

o

I'm so sorry to have given you a mistaken impression. I'm new at this.

Here is what I posted on my blog, so you don't have to click on the link above if you don't feel comfortable doing so. The reason I linked to the blog is because I posted pictures of my paint removal job, as it progressed, on it.

Here is the text alone:

HOW TO USE PAINT STRIPPER

It's easy! Since the paint stripper does all the hard work, you don't have to apply a lot of pressure to remove the paint once the chemicals have done their magic. But, most importantly, using paint stripper is safer than sanding because you can avoid the often hazardous dust getting into your lungs and every crevice of your home. In the pictures below, I demonstrate how to use paint stripper, as I did to remove old paint from my kitchen cabinets.

STEP 1. Get ready for the job by purchasing all the necessary tools.

Paint stripper like the KS-3 Premium Stripper (if you choose a different brand, be sure to opt for industrial strength; sadly, there is no effective "green" option, no matter what the manufacturer promises)
Chemical-resistant rubber gloves
Chemical splash goggles
Small paint brush (for this job, get the cheapest kind, since precision is not your main objective)
Metal container
Odorless mineral spirits