Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
saute

Layout help - please help me plan a functional kitchen!

saute
11 years ago

Hello - I'm a long time Kitchen forum reader (possibly an addict?). I have been mulling over the design for our kitchen for a couple of years and have come up with a few options. I would love your suggestions of how to layout my kitchen to make it function as well as possible.

Our house is a four bedroom Victorian that we are slowly restoring. It's about 3000 square feet. We are family of three with one child under 10 (not planning on any more). While we have no plans to move, in our designs we are keeping in mind that the next family to live here will likely have more than one child. The kitchen is visible from the front foyer of the house (through the door to the living room shown in the images below). We have some ideas about what we'd like to do finish wise, but first we need to decide on a good layout.

I am the primary cook. We are a tall family (I'm 5'11"). I enjoy cooking, especially on the weekends when I have more time - I can happily spend much of the day in the kitchen cooking and baking. I often have a helper to wash dishes. On weeknights, I am cooking dinner while a helper hand washes the (plastic) lunch dishes. On weekends, we may work together on a special dinner.

We have a formal dining room that we use regularly and will keep - we have the space, enjoy the formal room and collect antique furniture and dishware that is displayed and used in that room.

We entertain a few times a month - usually the group is 6-10 (total), but we also host one or two large indoor family gatherings each year (20-25). Our socializing usually starts in the kitchen with drinks and appetizers; we eat dinner in the dining room.

My wish list:
- two sinks
- a spacious prep area with no wall cabinets; the prep area cannot face the back (greenhouse) wall - this is how I work now, with my back to the rest of the house, and I hate it