Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amck2

Do I Understand Correctly-w/ 8' ceilings Can't Have Stacked Cabs?

amck2
10 years ago

The KD we met w/ last week sent a couple layout plans that didn't include stacked cabinets, which we'd discussed as a possibility. When I questioned it she said it wasn't going to work with only 8' ceilings because Code requires 18" between bottom of cabs & countertop. That was news to me, but I'm still learning.

Seems to me I have seen stacked in kitchens my size - approx 13 x 13 L-shaped.

Comments (21)

• fouramblues
    10 years ago

I don't know about code here, but I have 18" between cabs and counter and stacked cabs, but had to do without the crown. (I don't miss it but many people think a kitchen looks incomplete without it.) You could have crown, but then you sacrifice cab height. Then there's the type of single door that has panels to make it look sort of like a stacked cab, which could work, as less space is lost with no doubling up on the box exteriors.

Here are my stacked cabs (before splash was finished) with 8' ceiling:

• nosoccermom
    10 years ago

Do you mean stacking shorter cabinets on top of standard 30" cabinets, or do you mean ceiling high cabinets?

Check out this discussion below.

Here is a link that might be useful: cabinet heights

• Kitchen_ Reno
    10 years ago

my understanding was the "industry norm" is 18 inches between counter and cabinet, but not CODE. I certainly could be wrong, but that's how my KD explained it. FWIW, we opted for 17 inches in order to accommodate what we wanted - we had 19 inches in the old kitchen and I don't even notice the difference.

• amck2
    Original Author
    10 years ago