Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nyrgirl35

2 colors or 1?

nyrgirl35
9 years ago

My kitchen cabinets will be stained, but I was thinking of doing just the back wall/ bar area/ pantries in a off white with chocolate glaze? Or should I just do the entire kitchen the same color?
I attached the pics of layout, I will also add the pic of color stain I don't have a pic of the off white color though

Comments (15)

• nyrgirl35
    Original Author
    9 years ago

This is the color stain

• greenhaven
    9 years ago

I am not very good at this, but my first thought was that if you did a glazed off-white it might prevent the kitchen from having a "boxed-in" feeling to it. Dark cabs at that end will definitely say "This is the end!" while the light cabs suggest "there might be more..." It is all about the mind game. :o)

• nyrgirl35
    Original Author
    9 years ago

So you greenhaven you like the back wall in the off white with glaze idea?

• Bunny
    9 years ago

Have you looked at real examples of white or off-white with a glaze? I think it tends to look dirty.

• herbflavor
    9 years ago

back wall/bar pantry area in something else is good to consider..but you can also achieve the contrast with different counter treatment or glass doored cabs on wall. I would consider a painted color as opposed to glazing and off white. There are some nice sage or light greens or mushroom/putty shades....I'd skip glazing-too pricey and doesn't look that great anymore-passé,to some degree.If there is blank wall between the two 18 in cabs are you thinking art or a relief backsplash or open shelves-if you have something planned for that spot I'm not sure the change in cab finish is really worth it.Maybe just a completely different counter.

• gr8daygw
    9 years ago

Two, I love the look myself. Gives a furniture quality to the room and adds interest. Not the best example but here it is: