Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
handel27

Plan advice

handel27
16 years ago

Hi All,

newbie here on our 4th kitchen design revision. Our house burned up and so we get to redo everything from scratch. We're going for "contemporary hacienda" in an open plan 1920's Spanish revival. Here's the floorplan. Would love your input.

We're planning on a bluestar range, saltillo floors, a patina'd copper peninsula counter (maybe), and knotty douglas fir cabinets in a simple shaker style. drawers for pots and pans, verticals for baking sheets, pull out tall pantry.

Uppers will be combo of open shelving and cabinets. front panels of cabinets might get metal, like a mexican nail punched tin, fired copper, leaded glass, or stuff like that. we're going for handmade, beautiful as it ages. 30" counters, 15" uppers. we are active and accomplished cooks and want a functional, fun to cook in, working kitchen.

Haven't found a counter we like. Love soapstone but it might be too dark. Thinking about schist. Very open to ideas!!

this board is full of amazing thoughts. hopefully you can push a couple our way.

much obliged.

Here is a link that might be useful:

Comments (11)

• rhome410
    16 years ago

You won't be able to stand at the sink and have the dishwasher open. The trash pullout might be almost as much of a problem. With corner sinks you pretty much always need a filler cabinet in between things you'll need to open fully while at the sink.

I think you might have to move the sink around to the approx where the trash pullout is, and probably push the dw down to the far end of the peninsula to make things comfortable for working. You could possibly also move the dw to the window wall, in between the sink and stove, and leave the peninsula for dish storage or put the trash there, depending on how you'd feel to have an open dishwasher in the midst of things.

Other than the sink location issue, it looks like you are getting a lot out of your limited space.