Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
se_me

Newbie needs layout help please!

se_me
12 years ago

My hubby, 3 big dogs and I moved to the DC area on extremely short notice (3 weeks). We had to buy immediately due to the dog situation, the house we bought has a great private, treed lot and very promising floor plan, but it requires a lot of updating. I have never done any sort of remodeling before, and this was not a premediated move or renovation....so I am extremely green! Demo is already underway, so no backing out. I have a few days before they finalize the engineering plans for the load bearing walls, then it will be cabinet ordering time. Details:

House is a 1979 colonial, main floor has 6 separate rectanglular spaces. For the back half of the house, the dining room is north space, kitchen + eat in dining is middle, and family room is south section.

We planned a completely new space for the kitchen that absorbed the eat-in dining but brought down the wall to the family room, creating a larger kitchen w/ island seating open to hearth room.

We have a GC who is great so far, but I have not met with a KD. I've been lurking on GW for the past few weeks and think (hope!!) I have a decent layout. I would really appreciate your candid feedback..

Some notes:

* Both interior kitchen walls are load-bearing, we have only budgeted removal of the south / family room wall

* I like to cook. A lot. And from single ingredient / farm source. When I say scratch lasagna, that means I ground the wheat berries into flour and make the mozzarella and ricotta from raw milk. So I make a fantastic mess of my kitcen several times a week, it truly needs to be professional grade

* I could do without the wine cooler and likely will

* the ice machine is mandatory, though I am unsure about it's current placement being so far away from the glasses. I placed it near fridge.

* the island consists of 24" base on range side, 12" storage cabs on backside. 18" overhang on 2.5 sides.