Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tricia257_gw

Arrrgh! light above sink will not be centered!

tricia257
11 years ago

I want to hang a pendant over my sink in front of a window. The window went in today and sure enough the junction box in the ceiling isn't centered with the window!!!!!

They cant center the box because of a joist

There has to be some way of making sure the pendant light hangs centered in front of the window. Can i use a large canopy to cover the fixture's canopy and make it look centered and hang right.

Any ideas???

An off center light would be like fingernails on a chalkboard to me.

Comments (17)

• smiling
    11 years ago

Any chance you can drop a narrow strip of ceiling, just enough to position a box in the center, and then connect to the box now in place. I'm not an electrician, but just an idea?

• measure_twice
    11 years ago

It does not bother me. But then, it is in your kitchen and not mine.

OK, seriously, that would drive me nuts. There are several solutions. Smiling posted a good idea. Another idea is to fasten a very shallow junction box to the bottom of the joist. It may protrude a teensy bit below the ceiling or not. The pendant shell may hide that. It may be possible for them to use a shallow box and notch the joist so the box is flush with the ceiling. I know removing material from a joist reduces the strength. You would need to check with the contractor or even better, the local inspector to see if that met code.

Below is a picture of several ceiling boxes. The shallow grey steel box at top center is the one I had in mind.

• sosouper
    11 years ago

We planned to install a single recessed light over our sink but it could not be centered so we ended up with two smaller recessed lights.
    Could you add a second pendant above the sink? Perhaps you can find a smaller version of your pendant and do that.

This post was edited by icannotwait on Wed, Mar 6, 13 at 8:11

• tricia257
    Original Author
    11 years ago