Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lshepherd12

Please show me your cherry wood cabinets (shaker preferred)

lshepherd12
12 years ago

I'm the process of selecting a stain for my cherry wood shaker style cabinets. My floor will have a golden oak minwax stain, which is a medium-light stain.

I'm leaning towards a darker stain to bring some contrast from the floor, but not so dark like an espresso. I know that I definitely do not want a dark granite. I'm attracted to the modern farmhouse look.

This is my first time with cherry cabinets, so I'm also not sure how much the color will change over time.

The closest color that I've liked from looking at pictures is in the link below:

http://www.decorpad.com/photo.htm?photoId=88591&index=18ätPage=1&searchQuery=granite&searchType=photos

I can't tell from the photo, but in real life, would this kitchen look too 'red'?

Here is a link that might be useful: Color option

Comments (14)

• badgergal
    12 years ago

I have natural cherry shaker style cabinets with natural ash hardwood floors. My cabinets were installed in November and they have darkened a little bit. It is hard to show the difference in pictures because the pictures I have we're taken with a cell phone and different times of the day with different ambient light conditions.
    My cabinets are not dark like you want but I thought I would post anyway so you could see how they look with the wood floors. Also I do realize you do not want dark granite like I have but here is a picture anyway.
    {{!gwi}}

• aliris19
    12 years ago

Here's some of them:

You can click on the photo and see more in my photobucket account I think. I guess I don't have a good overall shot of them, surprisingly.

• kellienoelle
    12 years ago